Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

In modern society, many couples tend to become parents at a later stage of their life. There are several reasons for this phenomenon, which have a significant impact on both family and community.

A few reasons can be given to explain why young people choose to delay their parenthood. First, due to the competitive labor market, they need to fully concentrate on their job in order to have financial stability before having their first child. They believe that money is the key factor that ensures that their children may enjoy higher living standards, better education services, and most importantly, respect from others in society. The second reason for newly-weds to decide against early child upbringing is that they want to acquire more knowledge and experience of raising and educating kids, as parenthood requires tremendous responsibility and patience.

However, this tendency could have many negative impacts on family life and society. To begin with, pregnancy and childbirth at old age can be risks for both mother and baby. Scientifically, if people give birth when they are too old, the babies being born might be less physically healthy. If any complicated maternal health problem arises, the life whole family would be turned upside down. Moreover, the generation gap can make parents struggle to communicate and sympathize with their children, which can lead to a major conflict in family relationships. Last but not least, due to the declining of the young workforce, the labor shortage may occur, therefore causing severe economic and social consequences.

In conclusion, concentrating on work and the pressure of being a parent are the two main reasons for delaying the parenthood of newly-weds. Consequently, this could lead to negative impacts, including lowering the babies' health as well as increasing the generation gap.