Some people think that social skills are as important as academic qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is a heated debate on whether social skills play a pivotal role as academic qualifications do in one’s success. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the idea that both mentioned factors are of an equal importance.

To begin with, it is essential to have some sort of academic qualification which is the evidence of the possession of one’s knowledge and experience. To be more specific, those certificates cannot be obtained without many years of diligent study and continuous practice. For example, in order to achieve a stellar credential from a prestigious university, one needs to study hard from an early age to pass the university entrance examination, then spend four more years working on a variety of knowledge relating to their majors. In addition, having a diploma in a particular field offers people greater responsibility and higher pay when it comes to seeking employment. Indeed, many big firms usually recruit employees by arranging several selection rounds such as preliminary selection where the applicant’s academic certificate is always the first thing they look at. For example, it is estimated that 87% of people who earned bachelor degrees successfully reached a well-paid job while only 21% of others with lower educational background do.

Apart from academic prowess, people have become increasingly aware of the importance of social skills. Indeed, life skills are definitely an influential factor for students to be enrolled in well-regarded undergraduate school. It can be recognized through many extra-curricular activities students took part in, which make their applications more competitive. Moreover, in terms of work, a person with sophisticated social skills also finds it easier to have a good relationship with their colleagues, and be conscious enough to avoid the misunderstandings in the workplace. As a result, people are given more sense of satisfaction out of their jobs instead of suffering from extra stress in their work.

In conclusion, academic qualifications and social skills both play a vital role in helping people succeed. It is difficult to say which one has more emphasis and neither of them outweighs one another.