Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on other important subjects.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Whether food science and culinary courses are important or not is still a topic of discussion. While some argue that students should learn about food and how to cook it, others believe they should focus on other essential subjects. This essay will explore both perspectives and present my strong agreement with the former viewpoint.

On the one hand, opponents of students learning food science emphasize the superior importance of academic subjects and other practical skills. There are core subjects like math and literature that are the dominant factors that determine whether students can get admission to their dream university with an excellent academic transcript, subsequently influencing their career path. Hence, it is reasonable that juveniles, as students, have to spend a large proportion of their day on them. Additionally, cooking is not the only crucial practical skill, students also have to learn how to manage their own budgets and clean the house to be able to live independently from their parents when they reach adulthood.

On the other hand, food science and cooking are still essential for students. According to a recent report, over 20 percent of children have to face obesity due to bad eating habits. The main reason behind this phenomenon is that they are not aware of the amount of nutrition they consume and cannot balance their intake of vegetables and sugary foods. This means that if students learn about food science and the nutritional pyramid, they are likely to eat more healthily, and the number of occasions on which they have to make an appointment with their nutrition doctors can decrease. Another point worth considering is that if students are proficient in cooking, they can avoid the potential threat of food poisoning. If people do not know how to cook, they have no choice but to consume readily available food in the fridge made by their parents or purchase processed meals from stores. These foods are not fresh and sometimes contain certain harmful chemicals due to the dubious activities of the sellers to make the food look delicious as long as possible.

In conclusion, while there are numerous vital pieces of knowledge students have no possibility of avoiding, a solid understanding of food science and cooking cannot be ignored. It is recommended that schools incorporate culinary courses into their curriculum to offer a more comprehensive education for students.