Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on other important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is an issue of controversy over whether students should focus on food science and preparation or other important subjects at school. Though the merits of the former are undeniable, I hold a firm belief that the latter should be prioritized.

On the one hand, some people argue that the classes about food theories and preparation play an integral part in children's development. First, these subjects raise learners' awareness of healthy eating habits. An explanation is that when students are taught how food constituents such as fats, proteins, and carbohydrates affect their physical and mental condition, they would become more health-conscious and likely to adopt a balanced diet. Second, cooking is supposed to be an indispensable skill in life. Therefore, these classes pave the way for less reliance on parents in the future, leading to independent lifestyles of learners.

On the other hand, I would contend that some crucial subjects at schools such as Mathematics and Biology should be given priority by learners due to their impacts on students' career success. These subjects are supposed to be foundational knowledge which is conducive to their professional environment. For example, some specific professions such as doctors and engineers are required a high level of biological and math background knowledge before taking any operation and erecting any building. This could deter them from making mistakes at the workplace and allow them to perform well, leading to a successful career and lucrative income after leaving school.

In conclusion, food classes could exert desirable impacts on kids' development as forming healthy lifestyles and leading an independent life. I opine that academic subjects are fundamental to children's future.