Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on other important subjects.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

While some argue that students should learn about food and how to cook it, others believe they should focus on other essential subjects. This essay will explore both perspectives and present my strong agreement with the former viewpoint.

On the one hand, opponents of students learning food science emphasize the superior importance of academic subjects and other practical skills. There are core subjects like math and literature that are the dominant factors that determine whether students can get admission to their dream university with an excellent academic transcript, subsequently influencing their career path. Additionally, cooking is not the only crucial practical skill, students also have to learn how to manage their own budgets and clean the house to be able to live independently from their parents when they reach adulthood.

On the other hand, food science and cooking are still essential for students. According to a recent report, over 20 percent of children have to face obesity due to bad eating habits. The main reason behind this phenomenon is that they are not aware of the amount of nutrition they consume and cannot balance their intake of vegetables and sugary foods. This means that if students learn about food science and the nutritional pyramid, they are likely to eat more healthily, and the number of occasions on which they have to make an appointment with their nutrition doctors can decrease. Moreover, if people do not know how to cook, they have no choice but to consume readily available food or purchase processed meals from stores. These foods are not fresh and sometimes contain certain harmful chemicals, which can lead to severe food poisoning. Therefore, if students are proficient in cooking, they can avoid the potential threat to their health.

In conclusion, while there are numerous vital pieces of knowledge students have no possibility of avoiding, a solid understanding of food science and cooking cannot be ignored. It is recommended that schools incorporate culinary courses into their curriculum to offer a more comprehensive education for students.