Some people think success in life comes from hard work and determination. Others think money and appearance are more important.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are widely differing views as to whether the deciding factor in securing a successful life is one's personal traits or material possessions and natural beauty. The first consideration about the argument may be conducive to favour money and appearance over diligence and persistence, yet further exploration the nature of success suggests vice versa.

Admittedly, it is natural why some people stress the importance of one's financial background and distinctive appearance. This is because many of those famous in the media tend to brag about their luxurious lifestyle along with on-screen appearance. The prejudice, therefore, seems to be particulary relevant to media celebreties ranging from actors to well-known singers. Meanwhile, we are often exposed to sad stories of those truly talented failing in castings to ,say, Hollywood films due to defects in their appearance. Having said that, if one's success is eternal is still a matter of debate unless they possess adequate skills.

From a wider perspective, it becomes apparent that a person needs to persevere through difficulties if they want to achieve a long-lasting success in life. But for robust personality shaped through hardships, a person in the limelight would be more likely to back down when encountering challenges. Furthermore, success in life is not only defined by how famous one is. That is to say, there are still other fields apart from being celebrity such as engineering and banking which can promise financial prospects coupled with successful life even if they come with little public attention. The knowledge a person needs to gain in order to secure these professions is decidely more of a matter of passion, hard work and determination rather than one's financial background and natural beauty.

To conclude, some people attribute successful life to one's money and appearance while others give preference to personal qualities. However convincing the former view may appear, I take the side of the latter.