Some people think that teenage years are the happiest time of most people’s lives. Others think adult life brings ,more happiness, in spite of greater responsibilities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

We spend our whole childhood wanting to grow up and then spend some moments of our adult times wanting to go back to being a kid again. Deciding about which years are the best years of our lives is surely a topic of conflict.

Our teenage years, like most would agree are carefree, fun and always revolving upon us. Where there is no responsibility to worry about, a age where we are just old enough to be independent and yet young to be dependent on our parents, friends, relatives for many reasons such as monetary, emotional support, for mentoring and guidance. As teens, we were bold enough to take risks, try new endeavors if one failed and carefree to experiment and explore. Most of our cherished memories are also made in these years. Memories with friends, family, with the travel to a new destinations even if it meant a trek to a nearby mountain or a grand foreign trip along with family. This is a life we live with great vitality.

“Adulthood is not an age, but a stage of knowledge of self”, John Fowles.

And yes I completely agree with this famous novelist who very simply gave clarity and meaning to the word adulthood. This stage of life gives us freedom in numerous ways. We are our own master. We have chosen a profession which helps us aspire to work towards a better life. We cherish the moments of buying our own home and of creating a new family. Even though we have the responsibilities of taking care of a family and balancing work along with it, we have a sense of fulfillment. We have left our carefree attitude behind and have transformed into more mature individuals and focus on the long term commitments. We are secure emotionally and all our experiences have made us more established and calm.

Both these phases of life gives us perks in ways which are special.