In most countries disabled people are not catered for adequately, e.g. buildings are often inappropriately designed. Governments rely too heavily on charities and voluntary organizations to provide assistance and funding. What further measures could be taken to assist disabled people?

Even with the help of many charitable organizations funding and raising awareness for the betterment of the disabled, the governments of all the countries individually should take it up to make the society a better and comfortable place for people with special needs.

The environment we live in is not designed for those who struggle with certain disabilities.

While many countries lately are catering to the needs of the disabled, there are yet certain countries who yet have to familiarize with making or understanding that the world also consists of people requiring an extra facility for making their life more comfortable.

The very basic facility should be the infrastructure of buildings by having ramps instead of stairs or elevators, allotted parking, public and easy to use toilets.

Also to mention, making public transport more disability friendly by keeping ramps, rails and certain seats reserved for the disabled.

For example, In the UK there are pavements for the disabled which also are slightly raised to indicate the end of the pavements.

The above mentioned deals with people who have physical disabilities.. We should also keep in mind people with various other disabilities, for example the ones who are deaf and or visually impaired and many more. For example in the UK the traffic signals have both light and sound signals.

Also encouraging disabled people to be hired in a company if they have the qualification should be encouraged as this could be profitable for the company in many ways, one being that the disabled will not only get confidence and acceptability which will ultimately lead to the person being more productive as well as the others. Also studies have shown that people with disabilities take fewer days off, are reliable and also stay in jobs longer than other workers.

While certain countries do have benefits for the disabled, one such benefit that should be maintained worldwide is for the disabled to be given riddance of his or her taxes. There are yet certain people who still, due to their disability, face problems to earn their daily bread and butter.

Forgiving their taxes can make their already difficult life a bit less difficult.

Still there’s a long way to go if we were to build a safe environment to accommodate the disabled members of our society.