The idea of having a single career is becoming obsolete. the new fashion will be to have several careers of ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues through-out life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

While the latest trend especially amongst the youngsters is to embrace a variety of job/educational roles, I personally do not agree with this trend.

Even though this seems to be a new concept, this actually dates way back to the times where people would opt for multiple jobs or careers only to have a stable income to run the family and to secure the future. Now a days even though one career or job suffices for a stable income people choose various other options to accomplish an interest, skill, or hobby so as to show case multiple occupations/studies which can also give an upper hand in job achievement or progression. These multi career personalities I guess have coined the term work-life balance, and while this movement is taking fast pace, I feel this sets off to be very exhausting. Having a full time job and pursuing to aim or learn for a new career could lead for a person not to have any family or social life which slowly but ultimately will lead to decreased focus and dedication.

Though for some having just one job or career could be monotonous, I tend to incline towards such a career. With constant evolution in every field, knowledge has to be updated every now and then according to new studies and technologies. For example,doctors have to keep themselves updated with the latest treatments to cure illnesses which become resistant over time to old medication and treatments. Like wise a surgeon has to keep him/her-self updated to new technologies and methods of less invasive surgical procedures which are introduced every now an again. A single career also keeps one focusd. Mastering one ability makes us perfect in what we do which will also leave us to have a balanced family,social and work life.

As we progress in our career, benefits such as good salary and higher designation will folow.

So I guess, “Jack of all trades and a master of none." sumes it up.