Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Studying in universities plays an important role for someone who would like to reach higher success in their career. While many people believe that universities just need to give students knowledge for their own sake even if it cannot be considered practical, I strongly believe that it is essential to provide the skills and knowledge that can be used in their workplace.

Firstly, universities identify your career in the future. Actually, high school provides us all general subjects such as math, literature and physical education... but does not have any academic subjects related to our future jobs whereas in university, there are a wide range of subjects related to jobs you want to do in the future, namely economics or engineering or doctors...so their lessons should focus more on how students can use this knowledge in their chosen career.

Moreover, nowadays, employers expect more in their employee. Due to the high demand of candidates who can do their job effectively, recruiters usually request applicants to have experience in their field. As a result, to get a job right after graduating from university, students need to acquire more skills and knowledge related to their jobs in the future when they are in universities. For instance, scientists or lectures, who work in academic environments, also need some soft skills such as presentation skills and office skills beside their academic knowledge to be succeeded in their jobs. Therefore, universities need to focus on training skills which support to their careers.

In conclusion, the skills and knowledge, which might be used in a workplace, should be taught in universities.