Some people think that watching sport is a waste of leisure time.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, watching sports programs has become very popular. Nevertheless, some people believe it is not a smart use of free time. I only partially agree with that statement because I think we should see it from different perspectives.

Firstly, watching sports might not be the best way to spend our free time. This is because there are so many other activities which can be more beneficial to us than watching sports competitions. For instance, if a person chose to read a book in his or her free time, they would probably gain knowledge which they can use in their lives to cope with their problems. however, if they went to see a football match, for instance, they would not learn anything that is of practical use.

On the other hand, watching sports matches, whether by watching television or going to the stadium, is usually a social activity. people often watch these games with their family or friends, which could be an excellent opportunity for them to connect deeper with their loved ones. In contrast, they often do activities which are only about themselves. For example, they watch the movie they like or listen to music they think is good. so watching a sports program could be a break from all the activities that people do in their leisure time by themselves.

To sum up, I think, compared with watching sports, other activities might help us to develop skills and knowledge which could be useful in our lives. however, most of them do not help us with our social life. so we can see watching sport as an opportunity to spend time with the people they care about.