Some people think that young people should follow the traditions of the society. Others think young people are free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The topic of which lifestyle that the young nowadays should follow has been attracting the public. There is a part of the society holding the belief that youngsters need to keep themselves within a safe zone that is acceptable by the former generations. However, others think that young people are totally accepted to do everything on their own. This essay aims to express the opinion on each viewpoint and give a personal perspective.

First of all, it cannot be denied that the young generation has the right to express their viewpoints on any topics as other generations do. In fact, young people who are confident and do not hesitate to speak out what they think can be considered as a great inspirational source for other people not only people who are at the same age but others at all ages as well. For instance, the keywords or hashtags recently on social media related to “Gen Z” have been a key term that has been looked at by everyone. Indeed, even though not all the contents posted with this keyword are delivered in a positive way, it can still be an aspect for people to be inspired or to figure out the differences between the various generations over the time. Other than that, due to globalisation when all the countries in the world tend to reach the sustainable development goals, cooperation and integration are key factors to succeed. Therefore, the young, especially Gen Z, is an important factor that can be the most potential and powerful standing for the whole nation.

However, there can be some “side effects” if youngsters become overconfident and have a tendency to ignore traditional values. This is understandable since the young these days has been exposed to a huge source of knowledge and they are in a much better life condition than the others. Otherwise, they seem to lack the experience in life that may lead to misbehaving. In fact, paying too much attention to how to be confident or how to be different in a community results in youngsters’ misled attitude and behaviours. Thus, spending time on learning about the past and about their countries’ culture, as well as their habits and customs is necessary to find out for themselves and be more grateful towards what they were given.

To sum up, it has always been good for the young to be independent and individually successful in their paths. However, the traditional values are still the crucial factors to be paid more attention to and it can be even more helpful for the youngsters to show their power and nationalism to other people from different countries. That is the reason why being consistent with learning as well as being grateful and respecting the traditions will never be neglected by anyone.