Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is worldwide argument whether zoos should be abolished or not. Individually, I strongly believe that these locations have their own pros and cons and can produce positive outcome if used properly.

On the one hand, zoos can create a detrimental living environment for wildlife creatures. There is no surprise that once animals are captured, their intrinsic essence is impaired so heavily that the wildlife is no longer suitable for them as the zoos unreasonably supersede it. Lolita, for instance, is a whale that can not adopt the marine habitats again after 45 years being locked in an aquarium. Moreover, due to visitors' vulnerability and ignorance, once the captured animals have any impulsive misbehaviors, they can be tremendously snowed under by hostility towards them, resulting in a more stressful unwarranted life in cages. Therefore, zoos would raise more problems for the wildlife rather than be a safe way to protect them.

On the other hand, zoos can undoubtedly provide great protection for wildlife species. Due to human implications on the Earth, wild animals have enormous difficulties in terms of their habitation. Therefore, zoos is essential to their survival, providing both subsistence and sustenance for them. For example, zoos are the safest places rescuing pandas from the lost of bamboo forests due to industrialization. Furthermore, thanks to permission for visitors to observe the captured wildlife species, public awareness can be promoted since they are acknowledged of the toil undergone by them since they have nowhere else to survive. Therefore, the effort to protect them will be leveled up to a higher agenda. After all, zoos can greatly benefit our global concern of protecting wild animals.

In conclusion, considering the zoo's merits and disadvantages, human should propose more effective regulations on such sites in order to fulfill our role to protect wild animals