Some say that it is good for children to stay away from their families and go to boarding

school. Others say that children had better live with their families and attend a day school.

Discuss.

There is still a lot of controversial about whether send children to boarding schools or stay with their family. Some say that it is good for children to stay away from their families and go to boarding school. Others say that children had better live with their families and attend a day school. In my opinion, boarding school has many indisputable benefits.

First of all, living in boarding school can improve children’s independence. Away from parents’ love causes the children to do all the things by themselves. This will allow them to develop a mature attitude and self-reliance. Secondly, boarding schools keep children away from social catastrophes. Students in these schools are kept occupied in the evening and took advance of after-school conversations with teacher. As a result, they will stay away from drugs, alcohol and other dopes. Lastly, the boarding schools have effective teaching qualities. Having modern facilities and highly qualified teacher, these schools can provide children with new teaching and learning strategies. Classes are also significantly smaller than regular school classes and obviously teachers can pay more attention to each student

Beside the advantage it brings, boarding school have a lot of disadvantage. The first thing to mentions is the overpriced tuition. Boarding schools exceed the payment of ordinary families and only for the middle and upper classes. This will cost an arm and a leg if parents want their children to attend these schools. In the second place, leaving home too early can cause homesickness and, consequently, lead to fatigue, depression and social isolation. Last but not least, It lack of personal space. There will always be people around and this is not good for teenagers especially during their puberty.

In conclusion, boarding school have a lot of advantages such as independence, away from social catastrophes and effective teaching qualities but there are also many disadvantages like homesickness, lack of personal space and overpriced tuition.