In some countries, parent expect their children to spend a long time studying both in and after school and have less free time. What are the positive and negative effects that this could have on children and society they live in

Nowadays there is a tendency that children in many parts of the world had to devote a large amount of time to study not only at school but also after they come back home due to their parent's expectancy. It can be said that this phenomenon may bring both beneficial and adverse impacts on not only the development of children but also the society as a whole

On the one hand, there is a variety of benefits that extended learning time may bring. First and foremost, it helps learners to achieve a deeper understanding of their subjects and, consequently, get a much higher academic result. It is apparent that this will be the first step for children to gain a well-paid job and earn a stable income in the future. Moreover, it also prepared children to prosper under pressure, which is considered vital for them when entering the labour force. Another advantage that is worth mentioning is due to the fact that by spending more time studying, children are less likely to engage in inappropriate leisure activities. Video games, which is a sedentary hobby that reportedly addictive and detrimental to one's well-being, can be a suitable case in point.

Nevertheless, the severe effects of excessive study on children should not be underestimated. First and foremost, having a work-life balance is the prerequisite for the comprehensive growth of a child. By the way of illustration, pupils who burdened with a great deal of academic knowledge from a demanding learning program, as well as several private tuitions, may lose their ability of creativity and imagination. The worst scenarios are that they may commit suicide to free themselves from frequent headache, social anxiety or even depression. In the second place, children who always had to live up to their parent's expectation may hold a negative attitude towards learning. According to various research, there is an increasing number of students dropping out of the course early in life. This may raise the unemployment rates and involve in social catastrophe.

To sum up, the extended study time may have the benefits of helping students to get a higher academic result as well as a better occupation in the future. They also keep children away from improper recreational activities. Nonetheless, the child may suffer from a huge amount of workload that led to some mental health. Moreover, they may hold hostility attitude toward learning and drop out of school at an early age.