Some sociologists say that, it is a waste of time for students to pursue secondary education for 12 years. It is better to shorten it to nine years only, then go to vocational school to learn a skill applied in their jobs or go to university to get a degree. To what extent do you agree with this? State your views and reasons. You should write between 300 and 350 words.

It is said by some sociologists that pursuing secondary education for 12 years is to waste time, and it should shorten to nine years only, then go to study a skill applied in jobs at vocational school or go to study at university. For me, I totally disagree with this opinion because of the following reasons.

An obvious reason is that it is hard to change an educational system of a country. Many educationalists have designed an appropriate education system for everyone with different conditions so that all students from the whole nation can go to school. Not only that, but it is also difficult for the government to decide the best solution for students for a long time. The textbooks, for example, have been updated for several years but for now, the government cannot make a decision that should be largely adapted to school.

Another reason is that 12 years at school provide pupils a process of being gradually mature. They would have enough time to study many subjects to gain more knowledge and skills which are beneficial for them in the future. An illustration of this is Maths and Literature, both of these help students to raise their logical thinking and the way to express ideas.

Last but not least, students will be familiar with pressure when they come to society. Monthly tests and exams require students to arrange suitable schedules to review knowledge and find out keywords to study more easily. It helps them a lot at work because there is a large amount of work and they have to know the best solution to deal with.

In conclusion, each educational system has its own advantages. However, I think that the benefits of studying for 12 years at school outweigh its drawbacks.