Traditionally, many students decide to attend higher education after graduating from high school. However, it can be observed that nowadays, having a long-year break has become their second option. Though this trend can have benefits for students, I assume that its adverse effects is more glaring

On the one side, taking a gap-year is beneficial in a certain extent. Travelling is a great epitomize in this period, which students can cultivate experience of the diversity of alien culture. Furthermore, they can build up their independence of their parents and learn how to take care themselves by means of living abroad. On top of that, deferring attending tertiary school can give them opportunities to go on vocational trainings in wedding, events planning and so on. Then they can have a job which both hone their practical skills and earn a living.

On the flip side, i am convinced that the advantages of taking a gap year is pale in comparison with their negative aspects. Foremost, gap-year taker might face up to peer pressure when they back to school and fall behind other students due to the fact that they find it struggling to adapt such an intense schedule of formal schooling. As a result, evidence shows that many of them lose their momentum and give up on studying quickly. Last but not least, students who delay tertiary education to work are unlikely to save up money or identify a suitable career path can only find entry-level jobs, which neither offer them low salary nor teach them anything substantive.

In conclusion, although having a long year break is gaining traction, i still contend that it is not a worth-trying path for students.