Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that these day students completed high school and take one or two years off before starting university. They either work or travel at this time. However, I believe that this brings some drawbacks instead of benefits for them

On the one hand, young people take a year off after finishing high school. This brings some disadvantages because of some reasons. First of all, people cannot catch up the important knowledge to prepare for a new school compared to their peers and they will not have some interesting experiences when they try to enroll in the university that they want to. Moreover, when young people take a trip or find a job, they might give up higher education. For example, the young person has already a good job and have a stable income, they do not feel the urge to enroll in the university.

On the other hand, taking a year off between a high school and university have some positives. Firstly, young people take a year off for traveling or working, they will gain real experiences for their life. Having a job is an important chance which enhances their skills such as communication skill or presentation skill. These skills will help them in the future. Secondly, traveling can open their minds such as knowing some other traditional foods or cultures, it is a great way to relax before enrolling the university. Learners can meet new friends and create some relationships with other people in different places.

To sum up, although traveling or working during a year off can bring some benefits, I believe that students should focus on their education instead of finding a job or traveling.