Some students work while studying. This often results in lacking time for education and constantly feeling under pressure.

What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

Many students have the need to conciliate their studies with a job. These activities, being held together may cause overload, stress and the academic performance may be compromised. I am inclined to believe that the main cause of this is the increase of competitivity on the market.

Firstly, there is the need of specialization of the workers. Currently to work in a certain position you must have a certain degree, while some years ago the same position existed and it was filled with a less degreed worker.

Moreover, this phenomenon of specialization has a continuity tendency, because new technology constantly arrives, and as it comes, there is the need of changing processes, so people must be able to adapt and to obtain the knowlodge of this new technology. Then if you want to keep your job you must always keep studying.

Finally, this accumulation of tasks both from working and studying may cause stress, overload, and even some diseases. That may affect both performances. However, nowadays those tasks must be held together. So, one possible solution is to give to the employee some studying time. It could be a free time from work that the employee could use to do any particular project that he is willing to do. There is some evidence that this may work. Google company has been doing this for years and some of its projects came from some employee’s ideas on free time.

In conclusion studying and working need to be done together nowadays, plus they can harm the employee, however there are some means to decrease this harm.