Some teachers think that international student exchange programs would be beneficial for all teenage school students. Do you think its advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, Exchange program is the new trend of modern education and also have positive impacts on students. Nevertheless, Is there any disadvantage of this kind of education? This essay will give an insight into both advantages and disadvantage of this program.

On one hand, there are a great number of advantages when students decide to participate in exchange programs. Firstly, International exchange students will get opportunities to immerse themselves in a new culture and meet different people from all over the world. For instance, these teenagers will have chance to communicate with locals and learn the customs and traditions from them. Secondly, It is undeniable that staying away from home for international exchange helps students a chance to challenge themselves and widen their horizons. It is a fact that without daily support from their parents, these students have to learn to cook, clean, manage their budgets, make their own decisions and also travel alone. Therefore, they could develop their personal skills effectively although studying exchange just for a short period.

On the other hand, there are still some drawbacks that against the advantages we mentioned above. Firstly, It is inevitable to get culture shock. Exchange students might be faced with unfamiliar customs and traditions, that could make them really hard to catch up with the daily life in new environment. And when they are familiar with the environment of the exchange country, They have to come back home and the culture shock occurs one more time. Secondly, Because of the difference of programs between universities of two countries , there are abundant of difficulties to face when teenagers engage in exchange projects. For instance, when I came to Italy for exchange programs, I have difficulties catching up with lectures due to my poor language skills.

In conclusion, I hold the belief that the advantages of international exchange programs will overweigh the disadvantages. what students could study from this kind of programs is undeniable, although there are many difficulties in adapting new cultures and environment