Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Outline:

It is argued by some that online teaching is now offered at some universities so leaners can be available to study on the Internet. While there are several drawbacks, this trend has far more benefits.

On the one hand, there are some drawbacks of being taught through the Internet relating to interaction between teachers and students and undeveloped soft skills. First of all, teaching on the Internet leads to the lack of discussion between lecturers and students. To be specific, teachers and learners do not have an opportunity to have face-to-face communication, which is really helpful for presentation skill. Furthermore, another soft skills such as leadership skill, working in group. To be clearly, traditional learning helps students studying with each other; as a result, leaders in groups can enhance their leadership skills while others can practice how to work in group.

On the other hand, online teaching brings many advantages namely saving time and reducing manifold expenses. Firstly, both lecturers and students can decrease time for transportation from home to school and vice versa. In stead of spending time on school, they can do other works or learning other subjects simultaneously and conveniently. Secondly, traditional learning requires a big tidy room with full of electronic lights and modern educational facilities. To serve all that requirements, a great amount of money needs to be spent daily. However, learning on the Internet from home can be a solution for that problem.

In conclusion, learning indirectly online has many adverse effects such as cannot have discussion and develop soft skills, yet the benefits namely time and money saving outweigh the drawbacks of it.