Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

On the one hand, there are some advantages when university students take part in online courses. First, due to an increase in online courses, students in destitute regions are likely to approach academic subjects and learning enviroment and like other students with better living standard. This means that these students would still be equipped with academic skills and empirical knowledge after graduation, increasing their likelihood of finding a good job and higher status. Second, online courses offered by universities is proved to be not as expensive as classes delivered on campus due to not incurring expenditures for material maintenance.. If low-income students decide to attend univerisity, tuition in addition to campus fees must be unaffordable.

On the other hand, applying virtual courses to educate students can also be fraught with some negative consequences. The first reason is that e-learning can be a hindrance to the development of learners’ soft skills especially teamwork and restrict their opportunity of practice. It can be implied that if they are not required to put their academic knowledge into practice, they inevitably can not accumulate sufficient practical experiences, which is a constraint of finding a promising job. Another reason is that studying by dint of courses on the Internet is associated with lack of regular interaction and consultation with professors. Subsquenly, students are susceptible to not comprehending the lectures which acts as s deterrent for their making headway.