Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

It is often argued that students should assimilate additional subjects to become all-rounders while others disagree and think that spending all their energy obtaining a diploma is much more vital. While focusing on the formal qualification has its benefits, I believe that students should gain knowledge from both tertiary education and other sources.

On one hand, it is essential to devote all effort to achieving a good degree as academic performance is the main criterion of success for university students. If students do not concentrate utterly on their curriculum, they will tend to fall behind in their studies and struggle to catch up. A friend of mine used to be a top student, yet she had played truant several times for her critical reasoning course. As a result, she was one of the students whose marks ranked at the bottom of the class and she took approximately six months to back to her old self again.

On the other hand, having a well-rounded education can open the door to better career prospects. Learning additional subjects can help students cultivate their soft skills which are the important requirements set by big corporations. In surveys conducted by prestigious organizations every year, an ideal employee has good theoretical knowledge as well as skills such as digital literacy or problem-solving skills at an advanced level.

In conclusion, although paying attention to the curriculum at the university is necessary, students need to train themselves through additional subjects for a much better career path.