In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

There are various technology advances in agriculture field recent years, but famine still occurs in some areas throughout the world. I am of the opinion that there are anticipated causes and several appropriate solutions could be taken to prevent this issue.

A major reason leading to food shortage in certain countries is food waste in nations where have plentiful food supplies. Thanks to development technology in agriculture, most of countries have enough food distribution for their own consumption but a significant portion of nourishment was wasted instead of using for nutrition purpose. Restaurant and supermarket, for example, are main sources of food waste, where customers’ choices are based on the freshness of products; if there are any unqualified products, they will become waste. Another reason of this problem is that advanced technologies in farming are unpopular in poor and developing countries such as nations in Africa continent, where food shortage usually occurs due to underdeveloped economy as well as technological disadvantages. International supports have been implemented but whose impacts were not enough to mitigate the current situation.

However, several solutions could be proceeded by both governments and individuals to enhance global famine. Firstly, governments could release food-saving policies which could help to save food from wasting and use them for international supporting campaigns to poor countries. Moreover, exchanging agriculture technology is necessary for helping other nations create their own nourishment resources that can be sufficient in the long-term plans. Secondly, restaurant and especially supermarket are encouraged to have schemes to reduce food waste. AI (artificial intelligence) application and logistic system should be used in food industry for exerting optimal procedure to minimise food waste of the processes.

In conclusion, food shortage is usually global issue in certain countries despite of development of technology, I believe that there is variety of solutions could be implemented to deal with problem