Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One of the biggest social and practical challenges that people living aboard face is the language barrier. While this can lead to several serious troubles for both local people and foreign ones, but I believe that the development of today’s technology could help us to mitigate this issue.

Travelling aboard or shifting to foreign countries for education, migration and working has been gradually popular trend in recent years throughout the world, and both moving people and resident in hosting countries have awareness about it. In perspective of foreign people, who moving aboard for educational or working purposes, usually equipped themselves with certain level of foreign language, which might be required by hosting countries or be used to optimise the effectiveness of their work. International students, for example, are required IELTS qualification for applied their courses overseas such as USA and Australia. In travelling people’s perspective, some common words and phrases of overseas countries are not too difficult for them to acquire. Besides, local resident also understands and empathizes these language misunderstanding, and they eventually eager help others improve their language ability.

Moreover, development of technological applications leads people to new era in which language barrier is invisible. With mobile application called “Google map”, people now can find the way to their desire destinations without asking strangers and confusing while finding routes. Besides, for those people who have high demand in using foreign language daily, translating applications could help them to transfer from their mother tongue to others without delaying and inconvenience. In most public locations and restaurants, details of introduction have been written down on posters, papers and menus so that people, especially travellers, who have restricted level in oversea language can easily offer what they want within few simple words.

In conclusion, I approve the notion that living in another country and not knowing the local language is sometimes troublesome, but they are often scanty and can be taken care of by the efforts of the locals and migrants and the use of technology.