Sports events get the nations together and help alleviate the violence in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this viewpoint?

In this modern age, international sports events are assumed to create bond relationships between countries as well as mitigate the violent issues worldwide. I partly agree with this statement and will illustrate my opinions with relevant examples.

Undoubtedly, sports tournaments which attract numerous worldwide participants could benefit nations in two aspects. Firstly, sports events creat appealing playgrounds for athletes from many countries to compete together. After the event ends, they could support each other to reinforce other’s weakness by sending athletes abroad to be trained in high quality environment. Therefore, the negotiations between countries could somehow benefit the development of relevant parties. Secondly, since sports always attract the majority of people, global events would promote the cultural exchange among nations in the world. While the sports stars could experience other foreign traditions, spectators could broaden their knowledge about various culture through media platforms.

On the flip side, the violence happening in the world perhaps can not addressed through sports events and even increased in certain situations. In fact, there are still discriminations towards Asian athletes participating in the international competition such as World Cup or Olympics. In some cases, losing a match, for example a football game, would somehow raise the tension of the spectators that might lead to violent incidents between sports fan bases. Finally, terrorism organisations could take advantages of such huge events to threaten governments by people lives.

In conclusion, the unity and collaboration among worldwide nations may enhanced through essential sport games, however, it could not solve the violent problems that the world is facing nowadays.