Students in school or university learn more from classes of teachers than other resources (eg. internet or TV), do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays students can be educated trhough more and more sources. An emerging discussion regarding to this is that teachers are still the main resource providers for students. This essay will present rationales about why in real life, teachers have no longer been the main educators regardless advantages they have.

It is acknowledged that there are certain things that could only be learned from teachers. Firstly, through daily interaction, teachers could play a role modle for students. By being respectful and non-judgemental, teachers could educate students with interpersonal manners and social skills. Moreover, it is the passion that educaotrs have that makes them unique. A enthusiastic and positive attitude towards unknown could be picked up by students.

However, one main reason making me moderately disagree with the statement above is that students actually spend more time online rather than in school. For example, I, as a on-campus university student, only stay in the university for maximum 8 hours a week, which are for lectures and tutorials. The rest of time is allocated to locate online resources, watch movies that will help me on assignments, as well as read textbooks. Therefore, it is impossible for me to complete assignments if I only attend classes but not do self-education.

Furthermore, multi-media, such as games, TV programs and online videos, are more effective in terms of knowledge passing, compared to teachers delivering messages to a big class in the classroom. The study shows that students receive 75% contents when they learn from multi-media sources, while only 40% messages can be learned when it comes to the traditional teacher-student classes. Thus, a significant effectiveness can be found on other educational resources.

In conclusion, some people reckon teachers are still the most important knowledge delivers. Although I acknowledge the uniqueness of teachers, it should be admitted that students are learning more from other creative resources.