Students in university should be specialized in one subject rather than to develop a wider range of many different subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

In contemporary society, there is consensus growing about the university students’ choices for their subjects due to its tremendous influence. People are divided into alternative opinion whether student should major one subject or learn a variety of subjects. To the best of my knowledge, I am biased towards latter opinion and the following paragraphs will explain further.

Initially, it is essential to recognize that traditional manufacturing economy has developed into knowledge based economy, which means that students focusing on one subject are more likely to take up decent jobs in the future. As the result of increasingly competitive labor markets, specialization is considered as supplementary elements for candidates in creating impression to employers. Moreover, with the knowledge of core subjects that students learn in the university can they become professionals afterwards. There is an undeniable fact that the time in university is so limited that if students do not concentrate on one field, they may not gain a deeper understanding of this field. A good case in this point is that there is little possibility to students to become prestigious physicians if they do not devote themselves to the core subjects.

On the flip side, it is equally pivotal to acknowledge that learning full range of subjects could train students to become well-rounded individuals. As a result of participating subjects that they have no experiences in, it could bring great opportunities for students to respond with unprecedented challenges and could make students capable of tacking all kind of problems in life. Therefore, learning all subjects is helpful of development of various personality aspects in students. Apart from this, developing a wider range of subjects exposes students to many more new ideas and makes them acquire a multidimensional understanding of current issues, which will definitely promote innovation in their future career.

Beyond and doubt, it is obvious that although focusing on one subject can make students become professionals in the future, participating all subjects is more beneficial for them in the long term.