Students in university should be specialized in one subject rather than to develop a wider range of many different subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Nowadays, people are cynical about whether students should major in one subject or learn a variety of subjects when they are in university. From my point of view, I support the latter opinion.

On the one hand, students focusing one subject are more likely to take up decent jobs in the future. As we all know, human beings have already entered the era of specialization. And only with the knowledge of core subjects that students learn in the university can they become professionals afterwards. A fact making the situation even urgent is that the time in university is so limited that if they do not concentrate on one discipline, they may not gain a deeper understanding of this discipline. Taking medical science for an example, there is little possibility for students to become prestigious surgeons or physicians if they do not devote themselves to core subjects.

On the other hand, the situation in the workplace is far more complex and only concentrating on one subject is not sufficient for students to respond to the challenges when they enter the workplace. For example, almost in every industry, graduates have to communicate with colleagues and in this sense, if they learn behavioral psychology in university, they may understand their colleagues more and know how to work collaboratively with others to achieve shared targets. Apart fom this, developing a wider range of subjects exposes students to many more new ideas and makes them acquire a multidimensional understanding of current issues, which will definitely promote innovation in their future career.

In conclusion, while maximizing efforts to study one discipline can make students become professionals in the future, exposing oneself to a variety of subjects is more beneficial for them in the long term.