Task 2

The only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that the best way to enhance road safety is to serve stringent punishments for not following the driving rules. This essay completely agrees with the notion as fear of punishment could oblige people to follow the rules and also it could reduce the number of accident victims.

On implementing strict punishments on driving offenses, people would start to respect all the traffic rules and regulations inorder to avoid getting punished. For instance, when Malaysia imposed high penalty amount on traffic rules violations such as disrespecting signals, drunken drive and overspeed, public started to follow the driving criteria and the number of such offenses had been reduced to a great extent. This improvement was mainly due to people's fear of getting penalised for their reckless mistakes and they began to rectify them. Henceforth, the idea of admitting heavy punishments for driving crimes would be definitely beneficial.

Meanwhile, road traffic accidents can be decreased by serving strict punishments. For example, in India, bureaucrats brought a rule of wearing helmet strictly by bicycle riders, few years ago, also, they imposed six months of imprisonment for the violation. As a result, bicycle accidents were reduced. Even if accidents happened, people were not severely injured because of helmet. This is an another great advantage of implementing heavy punishments on driving related crimes.

In conclusion, inflicting terrible punishments on driving offenses is the only measure to improve road safety. This notion is completely acceptable as people would respect driving rules out of fear and it could decline the rate of accidents.