Task 2

Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

According to some people, permitting children to decide on their food, clothes and entertainment would develop selfishness in their mind. However, others opine that it is essential for them to take decisions on their own needs. This essay briefly discusses both the views and concludes that supporting children to choose their choices would be beneficial as it enhances their decision making capacity in the future.

On the one hand, providing liberty for children to choose their food, costumes and leisure activities would incorporate more self- centred thoughts in them. When children make choices on their own in day-to-day life, they will not consider the decisions of other individuals. For instance, if a child wants to have its favourite recipe everyday, it will not take other family members preferences into account. Undoubtedly, this would change them into selfish individuals.

On the other hand, granting freedom to make own choices for children could improve their ability of making decisions in critical circumstances. Allowing them to decide on basic needs would increase their confidence and so they would be able resolve conflicts by taking wise verdicts in the future. For example, many psychological studies state that children with good decision making ability will be confident and independent in their adulthood. Henceforth, children have to pick what they want in daily life, which would help them to develop their personality in the future.

In conclusion, some believe allowing kids to make decisions on daily routines would result in creating selfish adults, while certain people think that it is necessary for them to make such decisions. On analysing both views, though it enhances Selfish thoughts of kids, decision making capacity is crucial to solve serious problems like finacial crisis and relationship issues in the future.