Teachers used to convey information, but now with wide resources of information, there is no role for teachers to play in modern education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that technology with the proliferation of the Internet has been played a critical role in education and affected on the role of teachers. While I agree with the view that a huge amount of information online could be a good resource for students, I believe that the important teaching of teachers could not be replaced.

Admittedly, endless resources of information from the Internet which is accessible more easily than ever is of great educational value. Modern technologies such as mobile phones or laptops have functions that enable students to find out the most effective methods for their studies. For example, if a student lives in a remote rural area and does not have enough financial support to pursue higher education, he is able to search on the Internet for online courses and then follow virtual classrooms designed by teachers from top-tier institutions. In addition, online study can allow students set their own study time. This might be explained by the fact that online courses offer students greater flexibility and enable them to create a timetable in line with their needs and characteristics.

However, it is argued that teachers is one of the most important factors which has great impact on student, even in the Internet age. Firstly, digital gadgets hardly function as effectively as a human teacher does in terms of transmitting knowledge in a classroom. For instance, in virtual learning, a computer can only answer questions which have been programmed and fail to answer unusual, non-standard and unprecedented questions. By contrast, in face-to-face learning, a human teacher is able to respond flexibly with giving well-tailored, persuasive and inspiring answers. Not only can this help broaden students’ knowledge, but it can also enhance their logical and lateral thinking. Secondly, teachers who are role models with life and work experiences have played a vital role as mentors and advisors. They would equip students with sufficient skills in order to meet the needs of an increasingly changed society. This would be of great benefit to students, especially in competitive labour market.

In conclusion, although technology and online information is likely to be more used in education system, I believe that it can not replace the huge importance of teachers.