In this technological era, personal information is held on computers by many companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, it is so common for many enterprises and organisations to keep their customer data online. Although this activity can be immensely beneficial for both customers and manufacturers, the drawbacks seem to be more since it can have many negative impacts on the society

On the one hand, companies can utilize your data in order not to only increase their revenue but also facilitate the experiences of their clients. In more detail, thanks to technology, entrepreneurs can analyse their customer’s databases to figure out and promote the products that suit them best, which is of tremendous convenience for everyone. In addition, when it comes to making transactions, it is just only a matter of seconds, ultimately saving time and effort for users since all of their information to sign in has already been saved. They even do not have to leave their house, which is especially helpful in this pandemic

On the other hand, many people are afraid of the security of their information when letting some strangers control their private data. There is evidence that many organizations try to commercialize their customer’s information by selling them to a third party, which is obviously unethical. Moreover, their sensitive information can be potentially leaked out and in worsen scenarios, if fallen into the wrong hands, their money can be illegally withdrawn from their bank’s accounts or their lives will be totally distracted. For instance, if a burglar has your work schedule, he can ultimately break into your house when you are leaving for work

To conclude, is it undoubtedly that the storage of personal data on company’s computers is really useful and time-saving. However, the advantages are dwarfed by substantial disadvantages, regarding the dangerous situations people have to cope with when their information is not secured