Technology has changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The role of technology is becoming increasingly significant in today's world. One of its applications is to serve children as an instrument for their leisure activities. I believe the drawbacks of the trend would overshadow its merits.

It is thought that technological advances offer kids with more entertaining activities and superior experience compared to traditional leisure time. The first advantage of utilization technical applications is that technology development fosters the popularity of other entertainment forms for the young. Given the invention of smart equipment and internet connection, music, movies, and games become accessible to the young enthusiasts at anytime and anywhere. In addition, children are also able to induce improved sound, visuals, and effects of online entertainment nowadays thanks to state-of-the-art equipment. Take games online as an example, new hardware designs allows young players play games with smoother, more vivid motions, while being able to communicate with other players from far away.

Apart from benefits, use of technology could be attributable to inactive lifestyle, which has many negative impacts upon young individuals. This can be linked directly to many common health issues these days including obesity, diabetes and cardiovascular diseases. Another downside of the sedentary lifestyle is that it places children at greator risk of posture deterioration. If children spend many hours playing games in the same posture, they would be placed at greator risk of spines' structures destruction, which lead to difficulties in their later work and life. Finally, excesesive exposure to telecommunication devices is one of the main culprits of anti-social behaviors among children. This stems from the fact that children, who spend long time using smartphones or computers, may lose the ability to get involved in face-to-face interactions, which prevent them from being sociable.

In sum, I concur with the view that disadvantages of technological advances would outweigh the advantages when it comes to kids entertainment. While young users of technology can have more options and enhanced experience, they physical and psychological health would be jeorpadised.