Technology has changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The role of technology is becoming increasingly significant in today's world. One of its applications is to serve children as an instrument for their leisure activities. I believe the drawbacks of the trend would overshadow its merits.

It is thought that technological advances offer kids more entertaining activities and superior experiences compared to traditional leisure time. The first advantage of technical applications is that technology development provides the young with various options of entertainment forms. Given the invention of the smart equipment and the internet connection, music, movies, and games become accessible to the young enthusiasts at any time and anywhere. In addition, children can also induce improved sound, visuals, and effects of online entertainment nowadays thanks to state-of-the-art equipment. Take games online as an example, new hardware designs supply young game players with smoother motion and more vivid images, while being able to communicate with other players from far away.

Apart from benefits, the use of technology could be attributable to an inactive lifestyle, which has many negative impacts on young individuals. This can be linked directly to many common health issues these days including obesity, diabetes, and cardiovascular diseases. Another downside of the sedentary lifestyle is that it places children at greater risk of posture deterioration. If children spend many hours playing games in the same posture, it would steadily destroy their spines' structures, which leads to difficulties in their later work and life. Finally, excessive exposure to telecommunication devices is one of the main culprits of anti-social behaviors among children. This stems from the fact that children, who spend a long time using smartphones or computers, may lose the ability to get involved in face-to-face interactions, which would mitigate their social life.

In sum, I concur with the view that the disadvantages of technological advances would outweigh the advantages when it comes to children's leisure activities. While young users of technology can have more options and enhanced experiences, their physical and psychological health would be jeopardized.