The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to individuals and society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The media has played a crucial role in the livelihood of civilians as the information transmission so that people can absorb news rapidly just in a touch. However, the media tendency is more preferable to provide negative news instead of the positive modifications that could be harmful to the cognition of people. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement whereas there remains controversy between the positive and negative impacts.

On the one hand, negative news can have detrimental effects on people’s mental state that causes anxiety, insecurities, and obsession. Due to the fact that this can cause misunderstanding conversation in several aspects within the submission of government and lose faith in it. For example, frequent news on wars and terrorism may expand fear amongst the citizens. As a consequence, people may hesitate to travel around the world as well as the expansion in distance between people can increase the misjudgment about the characteristic of individuals. In addition, the news should concentrate on the developments as well as the positive aspects in order to reassure the cognition of individuals as well as bridge the gap between culture and people.

On the other hand, constantly updating problems and emergencies is an effective method of disseminating information. People from anywhere can acknowledge the emergency virtually immediately in order to against the negative impacts. This evidence is provided by the nick of time information on the lethal Covid-19 virus on news reports, citizens around the world are now aware of its precautions and preventive measures, leading to a decreased number of people infected. Thereby raising people's awareness about the consequences of certain problems in the society such as news about cancer and propaganda against smoking have been a common topic in the media. As a result, an increasing number of people have quit smoking and therefore build a better and healthier community.

In conclusion, news always updating about the emergencies around the livelihood of residents above the positive and negative, both of them have different aspects, however, the determination of news are including the immediate information transmission to civilians.