Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience.

Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

The majority of students after completing graduation at high school will set for the following stage of the education path as become a freshman at university. However, there are some cases of students, who have decided to take a year off before going to the innovative learning environment by acquiring a job and traveling for more experience. This trend, from my perspective, may bring more benefits than drawbacks for a person.

Firstly, there are immense activities that pre-freshman should do before moving to college in a year of such as spending on traveling or obtaining a part-time job. Due to the fact that this could be a practical lesson by the longward of knowledge that a person gained through culture, people, and festival. An impractical class is typically impossible to impress and attract the student by the board and speech, but traveling could, by the face-to-face experience instilled as much observation as they can with an exciting attitude to no end from what they had just gained from the textbook sentences, which is a relatable way. In addition, acquiring a job is an ideal way and opportunity for a person to develop critical traits to become successful in life by participating due to the practical training in the workplace environment. Furthermore, the opportunity to be applied after graduating college will be higher than the fresh graduates in order to get the risk of unemployment.

On the other hand, there are some individuals who argue that continuing to avoid university is harmful to the pre-freshman and they may have to face off with the lag behind the situation. In fact, enrolling in college later than peers is not much of an issue, which is tantamount to become a chance to identify the knowledge more clearly in the lesson with the practical experience, and after a while, they will slowly get the hang of the class. The difference between high school and university comes from the grade, marks, and achievement, while high school students need the same generation to learn, the college seems do not to care about it. In fact, the college decision is based on the choice of the parent through the advice, and the majority of them will recognize that their majors are not suitable, which is a common issue with the undergraduate.

In conclusion, there is no refusal about the benefit of taking a gap year before moving to college, however, there are still remain some issues that demand to be solved before decided to move to college, such as training first and known yourself strength and the right major.