There are many people who go to live in different countries. To what extent should people be allowed to move freely between countries and live where they choose? What are the benefits and drawbacks of this?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In modern times, immigration seems to be a prevailing trend as people seek life in different parts of the world other than their own homeland. In my opinion, there should still be certain rules to regulate those who get to travel freely between nations as this trend have resulted in both positive and negative outcomes.

Regarding the migrants themselves, I think that countries should readily open their doors to those who are desperately in needs. A good example here is that thousands of refugees and displaced war victims in Arab were allowed to stay in Germany, where they could find accommodation and supplies of food and medicine, after countless bombings to their own hometown. A similar argument can be made for those who can contribute to their hosting nations such as decent businesspeople, as they help to motivate business growth and increase national revenues. In contrast, people who committed serious crimes, especially murdery, should be deliberately prevented from making pass to other nations' frontiers as they may cause a lot of trouble to the communities they will be a part of.

Freedom of movement can also affect countries in different ways. On the bright side, most notably, it can act as a catalyst to the process of exchanging diverse cultural values and boosting economic development of all countries involved. This point can be illustrated through the many cosmopoltan areas and world-class business centers found in the U.S.A, where millions of people choose to settle in annually. However, it is evident that at times, as people abandon their homeland to find a future elsewhere, both the original and the hosting countries will suffer. For example, while in popular metropolese like New York or Paris, overpopulation is exerting tremendous pressure on infrastructure and facilities, poorer cities in the Cambodia or Laos are struggling as there are not enough working people around.

In conclusion, I believe that as allowing free travelling has both pros and cons, it needs certain restrictions to allow countries around the world to function properly.