There are more and more effective security measures in large cities to reduce the crime Does this endeavour bring more benefits than problems
In these years, the society has seen rapid proliferation of different measures aiming to prevent victimization. It
is followed by a protracted debate over its positive and negative impacts. In my opinion, it is a reflection of the
inflated fear of crime, but not of actual levels of crime.
To a larger or lesser extent, the increased presence of anti-crime devices fuels the fear of crime and has a
devastating effect on people's quality of life. Crimes are concentrated in particular areas, but the fear of crime
spreads across the whole community and affects nearly every resident. The most annoying aspect of this trend is
that people's freedom is curtailed (for example, using the stairway of a building less frequently due to the alarm
installed there) and sometimes, people's privacy is invaded (due to the concealed surveillance cameras in
offices). There is little, if any, evidence that the threat people perceive has a real life counterpart.
On the other hand, although some measures are said to deter or stop crime, they too often produce opposite
outcomes. For example, lighting in a dark area may reduce fear but also enable criminals to see their targets
more easily, leading to a high probability of attacks. The benefits of self-protective measures such as gun
ownership and martial arts training are doubtful because nobody can say with certainty that the net effect is to
decrease harm. Most personal defensive devices are either too difficult to use or less effective than expected.
Crime reduction and crime prevention also rely on other approaches rather than on security measures. Criminals
choose their targets based on time and whereabouts. Citizens will be less vulnerable to victimization if they
bypass those places where crimes frequently occur. There is no need for carrying chemical agents for self-defenses.
Many mansions are armed with expensive in-door surveillance systems, but issuing passes to
occupants and tenants and preventing easy access to the building is more effective and economical. In the inner
city, where crimes are epidemic, eliminating the dilapidated buildings used by criminals for hiding or selecting
a target is more useful than requiring all shops and residents nearby to install expensive security system. The
central part of crime prevention is altering the environment, by which the root causes or at least the facilitators
of crime can be eliminated.
As suggested above, it is difficult to measure the effectiveness of anti-crime equipment and users should
examine it regularly. The crime prevention framework should focus on making the environment safe from
crime, reducing the potential for crime in high-risk situations and halting the possibility of future crime.