There are several factors that motivate people to stay in the workforce, and money is the most important factor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are numerous factors that make employees remain in their jobs. While it is incontrovertible that salary is one of the most significant factors, I firmly believe that other people still remain in the workforce due to other reasons.

On the other hand, there are many reasons why money is one of the motivations for people to remain in the workforce. Firstly, money is of paramount importance for people to achieve an acceptable standard of living. Without well-paid jobs, it will be difficult for employees, especially urban dwellers or breadwinners of extended families, to shoulder an ever-growing financial burden from accommodation and food. Secondly, some ambitious people simply want to move up to a career ladder, and a high salary is also one of the fundamental aspects that indicate the prosperity of individuals. As a result, money has been widely regarded as a main target of life for both modest people as well as high-flyers.

On the other hand, for several employees, there are other factors that can motivate them to stay at work. Particularly, many people regard job satisfaction as an indispensable requirement when compared to their salary. For example, if a person prefers working in the outdoor environment, it is impossible to dictate to them to pursue a career full of sedentary tasks. Additionally, contribution to the communities is also another reason for maintaining the jobs. For instance, although zookeepers or environmentalists may be quite low-paid in some developing countries, several people are still pursuing these types of jobs, which is simply because they possess a sense of responsibility toward protecting endangered species or preventing ecological degradation.

In conclusion, although money is a vital factor for employees to stay in their current job, I would argue that this is by no means the key reason for most people.