Sedentary lifestyle has become a rampant problem across the globe. Imbalanced diet, addiction to TV shows and increasingly partying mindset only adds fuel to the fire. Also, laziness coupled with tempting yet unhealthy foods magnifies the issue. More and more addiction towards the television shows, personalities, social networking sites does not exactly create much motivation to keep moving around.

Other reasons include long hours of work which involves sitting in one position and staring at laptops. There is also video games which contributes to the problem because it does not help in getting any physical activity. Newer disorders are on the rise, on such example involves stress eating. The symptoms of this problem include munching food to drive away depression and stress. When food becomes the stress buster in only exacerbates the problem.

Not only this, increased isolation and reliance on virtual world gives us less time for our personal health and fitness. Being part of the "rat race" also means skipping essential meals like breakfast to catch up on work or class. Peer pressure also increases the possibility of conforming to the group. This may include spending more time in eat outs with friends and trying newer varieties of "fried or fatty foods" than working out. Food festivals and wrong diet habits do not help matters. For instance, people tend to starve themselves for quite sometime, only to give in and indulge uncontrollably. Unrealistic dietary goals are also bad. Say, counting the calories or how much fat is being burnt and expecting immediate results only leads to disappointment.

To stop this behavioural trends, involvement in fun filled work out sessions, setting the right goals such a focusing more on a balanced lifestyle, fit mind and body will certainly improve well being. Taking help of an expert be it a dietician or a doctor or counsellor also is useful instead of self-medication or internet based techniques. Lastly, valuing yourself and your health more is useful in creating the correct mindset to be healthy.