These days, people change career several times during their life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Some people think that choosing a job early and keeping doing it would provide them with a greater sense of fulfilment, whereas others believe that often changing job would be more likely to have a satisfying career life.

On the one hand, there are several advantages to job hopping. Firstly, by switching from one job to another, people may have chance to try their hands at different fields and thus acquire more skills. Secondly, job hoppers may find a job satisfaction in being able to put the knowledge gained from previous job into practising at new workplace and receiving recognition their capabilities. Moreover, people who change their job more often and experience various environments can discover what suits them best. In fact, many young people dislike the idea of having a steady job or a desk job and the reason is switching job to seek more dynamic opportunities that could later prove more fulfilling.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons why holding down the same job for the long time appeals many adults. First of all, instead of wasting time to change career, people spend time focusing and developing their current job would give them a better job prospects which include promotion opportunities and pay rise. The second one is as experience and dedication are both taken into consideration when a company decide who to promote or to dismiss, those who work longer for organization stand a higher chance of moving up the career ladder and earning more paying living. In addition, there are various perks that follow people who loyal with one job such as sick leave, holiday entitlement, a generous retirement package and yearly bonuses. Besides, they may set up a wide and steady network of partners as well as gain supportive long - term colleagues.

In conclusion, it seems evident that both hopping many jobs or staying the same job have their own unique advantages.