The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap

and clean energy.

The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The development of nuclear technology in the military and as an energy source is a controversial issue. While some people think that nuclear technology helps to maintain world peace as well as providing an alternative energy source, I believe that the advantages it brings to us cannot outweigh the disastrous effects it brings to the human race and our nature.

Nuclear weapons, as massive destructive weapons, is are not an effective tools to maintain world peace. In contrast, they threaten human survival once it is they are used. A The nuclear bomb detonated in Hiroshima, Japan, during World War II is a good demonstration on how destructive this weapon is. When a nuclear bomb is was detonated in Hiroshima, it immediately killed tens of thousands of people and more than ten thousands of people were that suffered from horrific injuries and later died from radiation exposure. So, it is clear that nuclear bombs are is catastrophic and cause unspeakable suffering to mankind.

Although nuclear energy provides a clean and cheap energy source, the harmful effects it generates outweigh its advantages. These dreadful effects have been illustrated by the destruction of a nuclear power plant in Fukushima, Japan, during the tsunami in 2011. Radioactive waste was leaked out from the power plant during the tsunami, causing massive contamination to the Pacific Ocean. The radioactive levels of fishes as far away as California is have been reported to have a high level that can lead to cancer. From this incident, it shows that there is no way to control how far radioactive fallout will spread. Thus, it is not worth developing nuclear power due to its disastrous nature and, in fact, other sustainable energy sources, like solar energy, are available To sum up, the advantages of nuclear technology do not outweigh the drawbacks because the impact of nuclear technology is cataclysmic to both the environment and human beings.