In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent year, it has been far more normal for people to live alone, particularly in large cities in the developed world. In my opinion, this trend could have both positive and negative consequences in equal measures.

The rise of one-person household can be seen as positive for both personal and broader economic reasons. On individual level, people who choose to live alone may become more independent and self-reliance. Young adult who lives alone, for example, will need to learn to cook, clean ,pay bills and manage his/ her budget, all of which are valuable life skills. From an economic perspective, the trend towards living alone will result in greater demand of housing. This is likely to benefit the construction industry, estate agent and a whole host of company which reply on houseowner to buy their products and services.

However, the personal and economic arguments given above can be considered from opposite angle. Firstly, rather than the positive feeling of increased independence, people who live alone may experience feeling of loneliness, isolation and worry. The miss out on the emotional support or daily conservation from family members or flatmates can provide, they also need to bear the weight of all household bills and responsibilities; in this sense, perhaps the trend of living alone is a negative one. Secondly, from the financial point of view, a rise in demand of housing is likely to push up property rents and prices. While this may benefit some businesses, the general population, including those living alone, will be faced with rising living cost.

In conclusion, the increase in one-person household will have both beneficial and detrimental effects on individuals and on the economy.