Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past, people used to make only necessary purchases to meet their needs. However, nowadays since the term of advertisement was introduced and developed people have been driven to buy products they saw on adverts while there was no need for them. I personally think that, adverts are the driving force behind the increasing sales in many items at least more than a need factor.

Firstly, it was not until the world started seing many advances in technology and social media that gave a huge boom for every avenue including the sales. Social media websites have been made an interactive platform where a manefucturer can easily offer their services and products to the public. For example, instagran ,one of the most popular social media websites, is a great source for catching attention of potential customers and inclining them to buy items which they do not really need. As a result of these changes our attitude towords regularly advertised products has been influential thus it is giving a considerable rise for some categories of sales.

Also, there is an increasing number of advertising campaigns that are conducting some researchs on consumer behaviour so that they could yield a product and make it appealing to customers. In majority of cases, those advertising campaigns have been succeeding in getting people interested into buying their products which are not always necessary.

To sum up, advertisements are playing a huge role in growing sales figures of some goods. I do think that, in 21st century people tend to purchase popular items impulsively rather than based on their real needs whis is the main factor exploding the sales of some products.