Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs within the society in which they are sold. To what extend to do you agree or disagree?

In recent age with developing of technology and enhancing the number of producers to make a different kind of products, advertisement has stood out of all priorities. This argument will be proven by looking at how with a significant increase over the number of producers for various good, not only do buyers have difficulty choosing a favorable product but also competition between producers to persuade consumers has become hard and serious. There fore, advertisement plays a key role in marketing to persuade people to buy some remarkable product that highlighted sometimes by on customer's mind. I agree with this opinion, to some extent, but before drawing a quick conclusion it needs to be discussed.

For one, most of the time, companies use prominent people in their advertisement to persuade the fact that their products consumed by famous people. For instance, a few years ago a well-known singer, Jennifer Lopez was participating in the advertisement of Pepsi, the favoured soft drink. It is an undeniable fact that this advertisement becomes very popular in short time and earned a great income for the company.

On the other hand, as a result of advertising on the television screen, a product may look gorgeous and good quality. It is clearly seen that people buy goods without enough consideration. Consumers may not need it, but they buy them impulsively soon after watching interesting advertising. Further more, some consumers invoked by advertising campaign, the other people may be effected by the trend. As this show, they may buy a product that is not the real needs of society.

In conclusion, all the mentioned facts into account that we cannot completely accuse the advertisements on cheating, because watching them helps us to compare the items or introduce new one, which has not seen yet. So, we can watch advertisement but decide to base on our budget and needs.