Today, people can work and live in anywhere they want, because of the improvement of
communication technology and transport. Do advantages of this development outweigh
the disadvantages?
It is irrefutable that because of the advances in telecommunication technology and travel,
today’s person can live and work in any part of the globe. The advantages of this definitely
outweigh the disadvantages. In the following paragraphs I shall put forth my arguments to
support my views.
There are many advantages of being able to live and work from anywhere. First of all,
people have more choices of jobs because of technological advances. Not only can you work
in any part of your home country, you can work for any company in any part of the world by
telecommuting. Secondly, modern wireless technology has made work easier and created
more time for self and family. What is more, people can lessen their work hours and still do
their work more efficiently. Another advantage is that people can manage more than one
work at a time. This is the need of the day as inflation is touching the sky and people need
to earn more and more.
Furthermore, the modern transportation modes like the metro and light rail have lessened
the travel time and also made it more convenient for commuters. This has also decreased
the need for people to live in the cities to do jobs because now it is possible to work in cities
and come back to peaceful countryside in the evenings because of modern transport
systems. This has decreased the overcrowding of cities which was making cities unbearable
to live in.
On the downside, this is leading to a sedentary lifestyle as people don’t need to travel.
Another disadvantage is that people become so dependent on technology that any network
failure may lead life to come to a standstill. Nevertheless, I still believe that these minor
disadvantages are of no importance if we look at the plethora of advantages this situation
has to offer.
To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, people can live and work anywhere today and
this situation is more of a boon than a bane.