Today, TV channels provide man’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows, why? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

It is undeniable that sports shows broadcast on TV channels are increasing significantly in number. However, the majority of these matches are for the male-dominated sports rather than female. From my perspective, this tendency resulted from several causes and I also believed that showtimes should be rescheduled with the aim of balancing time for women's sports

On the one hand, there is a variety of explanations for the preference for man's sport over that of women. Among them, the underlying and also the most important reason may due to the fact that the plurality of spectators are men. Therefore, the vast majority of television programs, including sports performances, are often male-dominated sports which directly targeted male audiences as they gain much greater ratings when compared to sports with female players. In the second place, it is allegedly one of several consequences of the gender-stereotype. There seem to be shreds of evidence that women are universally misinterpreted not to indulge in sports and their sports competitions are often tiny in scale. An illustration of this is that the female-dominated sports competitions are not only inferior in terms of prize pool but also media campaign and number of participants

Nonetheless, despite all these pre-mentioned factors, I still support the idea of giving equal time for woman's sports shows. The first and foremost reason is that female-dominated sports have their own excitement and interesting points that, in some aspects, even outperformed the male-dominated ones. Female volleyball, which often outnumbered that of man in case of views, can be a perfect case to support this statement. Additionally, although several people many argue that time-sharing will cost broadcasters a great deal of money, it is unlikely to be true and, on the contrary, the television stations will achieve pretty profit from the new female audience.

To sum up, male-dominated sports often have more broadcasting time as most of the spectators are men and it also partly due to gender discrimination. Therefore, women's sports shows deserve more time on television as they have their own attractiveness