Topic: Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Education is always one of the top priorities among nations around the world. In fact, tailoring educational programmes for students is a challenging objective as well as requiring a long-term vision. Yet there are several people who argue that schools should concentrate on teaching academic knowledge rather than hobby skills due to those skills mostly obtain from family and friends. From my standpoint, I contend that students should be imparted academic knowledge at schools while acquiring practical skills from their beloved ones.

In the realm of academic and examination success, schools play a significant role in imparting essential knowledge and skills to students. In fact, educational institutions not only tailor lesson sequences to each student to impart solid knowledge but also enhance transferable skills, which are key elements contributing to students’ career paths in the future. At schools, students can obtain a wide array of knowledge from cultural diversity to economic prospection through vivid learning experiences. In addition, besides learning foundation knowledge, they have to optimize their self-learning time at school to practice as well as apply heavy theoretical knowledge in the laboratory with the guidance of their teachers. Doing well in practicing and successfully passing examinations, meanwhile, not only demonstrates a student’s competency but also opens doors to higher education and professional careers. For instance, strong performance in subjects such as Mathematics and Science will improve students' logical thinking and problem-solving as well, which are invaluable abilities for them to grow in fields such as engineering.

In contrast, when it comes to acquiring practical skills like cooking, sewing, and woodworking, family and friends claim to be more effective instructors. Indeed, those skills belong to the traditional values originating from each family and local diversity, which means children might get exposure to those skills at an early age. Therefore, they would be taught thoroughly by their families as well as made use of those skills before attending in school. Furthermore, those skills can be highly personalized to individual personalities and preferences when learned within the familial context. Learning to cook at home, not only equips students with the necessary life skills but also creates an opportunity for them to interact with each member of the family, contributing to cementing family relationships.

In conclusion, although practical skills have their own merits, I hold a strong belief that schools should primarily focus on imparting academic knowledge for students to help them become successful in their career path. However, social skills such as cooking, sewing, and so on could be enriched effectively from their families due to traditional culture and social context.