Tourism is important to many countries. However its disadvantages should be overlooked. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your opinion.

Tourism has become a vital part in every country's economy. It is a mechanism which shrinks the entire world and brings the countries together and helps a region by bringing the foreign investments. In this essay writer considers the positive and negative aspects of tourism and finally gives her point of view.

One of the main advantages of tourism is as mentioned above, it brings foreign exchange in. This facilitates an economy to grow by getting exposed to international trade. Another benefit would be tourism helps in developing infrastructure and the beautification of the country. Apart from these, local employment opportunities and getting exposed to new culture are also considered to be the other gains of tourism.

However, tourism has its own drawbacks as well. Mainly it increases the over dependency of countries or their influence which leads to economic crisis. There will be artificial inflation and local people will always get 2nd grade goods due to tourism. Traditional occupations such as agriculture will be ignored when tourism is prioritized in a country and also there will be ample of free flow of idealogies or thinking patterns which leads to conflicts within the country.

So when summing up the above pitfalls, tourism is considered to be a bane to a country. Simultaneously, its benefits always overtake the drawbacks. As tourism helps to bring the cash flow in and it helps the economy to grow it has to be considered as a boon to a country. There are lot of ways to overcome the negativities or convert them in to a favorable impact. Countries can identify what are the negative impacts of the tourism on its own and should work on it to make them as the opportunities to grow. Therefore, writer comes to a conclusion that the advantages of tourism are way more than the disadvantages and tourism has to be encouraged in a long term perspective.